Hello, and welcome to Things I’m Obsessed With! A blog that will fulfill all of your pop culture needs, but only if you like things that are great.

 

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been obsessed with all things pop culture. I think it might have started because of my only child status. While other kids were arguing with their siblings about who their parents loved the most, I was most likely watching TV. (I knew who my parents loved the most. It was our pet fish, Lola.) From a young age, my parents encouraged my love of entertainment by taking me somewhat regularly to the movies and listening to me as I went on and on about how [insert random movie or TV show here] was the greatest thing that had ever been created in the history of the moving picture. After seeing my first Broadway show at the age of 11 (“The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee“, still a favorite), an obsession with theatre was added to the mix.

 

Websites like Vulture and PopCultureBrain only fueled my love more, giving me constant access and updates on all of the latest movies, TV series, and plays that I needed to get my grimy little paws on. Because of this, I became somewhat of a source for pop culture updates for friends and family (whether they wanted to hear them or not). I was known for regularly exclaiming something along the lines of, “Dude, you have to watch [insert movie, TV show or play here]. It will blow your MIND/rock your WORLD/change your LIFE, I promise.” This blog will be just like that, but instead of just yelling at my friends and family, I will be yelling at the world (!).

 

There’s so much out there in the entertainment industry, sometimes it can be difficult to find something special amongst the 16,000 different spinoffs of the Kardashians and the countless sequels, prequels and “based on a true story” horror films. That’s where I hope to help. Here at Things I’m Obsessed With, you will find a curated collection of whatever has currently caught my attention in the pop culture universe. Each week I will post about a specific movie, TV series, play, or even something like a podcast or webseries that I’m currently “obsessed with.” Sometimes it might even be something specific happening or being made in the city of Chicago, where I currently reside. Who knows? Well, actually,  I do. That’s kind of my job.

 

My goal with this blog is to introduce you to something exciting, something that perhaps you haven’t seen before and wouldn’t know about otherwise. Then you too can become obsessed.

 

Check back next week for for the first thing that I’m “obsessed with.”

 

And get excited! I know I am.

 

Stay classy,

Jenn

 

 

