IMG_0683
Photo by Jenn Murphy

We all have it. That one movie we have to watch whenever it’s on. It’s become so ingrained in our mind that we can come in at any point and know exactly what we’ve missed and what’s to come. In our ever-changing world that movie is a constant, a comfort, a sign that at least for an hour or so everything will be alright.

 

In terms of those go-to movies, I have two. One is “Bridesmaids,” the hilarious comedy starring “SNL” greats Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph. It never ceases to make me laugh and always leaves me humming “Hold On” by Wilson Phillips for at least a week. The other one is “School of Rock,” starring Jack Black. It’s truly one of my favorite movies of all time. (And in my opinion Richard Linklater‘s best. Sorry, “Boyhood.”) I think I can directly quote at least 80 percent of it along with the movie. If I see that either of these movies are on when I’m flipping through the channels, I immediately know what I’m watching. If they’re both on at the same time…well then, we have a problem.

 

For my mother, it seems like there’s a never-ending list of movies she will always watch. Essentially any pre-McConaissance Matthew McConaughey romantic comedy is in play. She’ll also watch just about anything starring Tom Hanks. Even “Larry Crowne,” and that’s saying a lot. (Fun fact: “Larry Crowne” is the only movie I have ever seen a midnight screening of. It’s a long, strange story.) She’ll also drop everything if she sees that “The Blind Side” is on. Seeing as that movie seems to always be on somewhere, it’s a miracle that she ever gets anything done.

 

What about you guys? Are there any movies that you will always watch, no matter how many times you’ve seen them? Let me know in the comments. And, as we head into this new year…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

