IMG_1962
Photo by Jenn Murphy

Even though it’s only starting to really feel like spring now, I’m already looking towards the summer and all of the wonderful pop culture-y things that the hottest months of the year will bring. (Also, I am at a serious loss for what to write about this week, so this will do.) I’ve compiled a list of 4(ish, if I’m being honest) things coming up between now and September that will excite, entice and easily keep you (and me) occupied until fall rolls around again.

 

1) Summer Movies That Don’t Involve Superheroes or CGI Creatures!

Don’t get me wrong, I have been known to enjoy a good summer blockbuster movie from time to time, but you have to admit that they get a little old after a while. There’s only so many times you can see a caped or masked or super-suited crusader take down the big bad or an average joe defeat a giant monster before it all starts to blend together. So instead of seeing the latest Captain-Iron-Ant-Whatever movie*, I’m looking for something a little different. Namely, a faux-doc about a pop star who never stops never stopping and a magical journey primarily involving a dead guy. That first one, “Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping,” I’ve already mentioned on this blog when its excellent trailer came out a few months ago. The other one, “Swiss Army Man,” has been on my radar since I heard reports of people walking out of its screening at the Sundance Film Festival back in January. The movie tells the story of a guy lost in the wilderness (Paul Dano, a constant favorite of mine) who happens upon a dead body (Daniel Radcliffe) that keeps him company while he tries to find his way back to civilization. The trailer for the film looks pretty disturbing but also…heartwarming? I know it sounds strange, but that’s kind of why I want to see it. I’m also curious to see if what presumably made other people walk out (Radcliffe’s corpse’s continuous farting) will turn me off. “Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping” comes out June 3 and “Swiss Army Man” comes out June 17.

*Which, if I’m being honest, I’ll probably end up seeing too.

 

2) Beyonce’s Formation World Tour

After watching Beyonce‘s incredibly fascinating hour-long “Lemonade” special on HBO this past Saturday night, I became even more excited than I already was about scoring tickets to her summer tour. I saw her two summers ago with Jay-Z (which, after “Lemonade,” has a whole new significance) and she was amazing. Which, of course she would be. She’s Beyonce! While my seats for that show were pretty awesome (I spent an embarrassing amount of money for them), this time I’ll be up in the (much cheaper) nosebleeds. But, you know what? It’ll probably still be one of the best nights of my life. Because, again, it’s Beyonce.

 

3) (Hopefully) Seeing “American Psycho” and “Waitress” On Broadway

It’s been three months since the last time I saw an actual Broadway show. Three months! That’s far too long, especially when there are some really interesting-looking ones that are starting to open up. The two that have really caught my attention are “American Psycho” and “Waitress.” Both are based off of movies and/or books, which I’m not always so gung-ho for, but based on what I’ve heard and seen they both look pretty worthwhile. “American Psycho’s” performance on “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” was very awesome (a shirtless Benjamin Walker didn’t hurt that) and the clips of “Waitress” that have been released so far look quite delightful. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to see one (or both!) of them before the summer is through.

 

4) The Return of My Two Favorite New TV Shows from Last Year

The summer can often be a desolate place in terms of quality TV. Networks assume that people will be spending their evenings out enjoying the weather and so they often use those nights to run off something a little less than great. That was definitely not the case last summer, as two of the best new shows from 2015, USA’s “Mr. Robot” and Lifetime’s “UnREAL,” premiered during the summer months. Both offered dark and twisty leads taking on some of the biggest things in our modern lives: the internet and technology, in the case of “Mr. Robot’s” vigilante hacker, and reality TV, in the case of “UnREAL’s” deeply troubled dating show producer. They captured both the public’s attention and the attention of the awards circuit, with “Mr. Robot” winning two Golden Globes, including Best Television Series – Drama, and “UnREAL” winning the 2016 AFI Award for TV Program of the Year. If you somehow missed out either of these shows, drop whatever you’re doing (finished reading this post though, you’re almost done!) and catch up before they come back on June 6 (“UnREAL”) and July 13 (“Mr.Robot”). (I’m also going to the interview panels for both of these shows at Vulture Festival in May, which is very very exciting.)

 

Well there ya have it, folks! Four things to get you absurdly excited for summertime to roll around. I know I am.

 

Anything else you’re particularly jazzed about that’s coming out this summer? Are you too going to see Beyonce? Are you proud of me for coming up with a post for this week despite near-crippling writer’s block? Congratulate me in the comments. And, before I go back to feeling sad about Prince (RIP)…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

