Screen shot 2016-05-29 at 10.56.34 PM
Image courtesy of Google Images. Screenshot by Jenn Murphy.

When I sat down to write this week’s post, I was at a real loss for what to actually write about. I racked my brain for something pop culture-related that caught my attention (and obsession, as the blog’s title implies) this week but came up with nothing. There just isn’t a whole lot going on at the moment; most, if not all, of my go-to fall and winter TV shows have aired their season finales and my summer shows haven’t really begun to air yet, there aren’t any current movies that I’m dying to see and the Tony Awards aren’t for another two weeks. I find myself in the midst of a serious pop culture lull: an unfortunate, but not uncommon, time when new pop culture offerings are very very slim.

 

So what is there to do? I can’t just sit around, twiddling my thumbs and waiting for something new and exciting to happen. That’s no fun. This is not the time for waiting! This is the time to be proactive, the time to be creative. It’s the time to dig deep and find something else worth obsessing over.

 

One way to potentially do that is to revisit old favorites. I consider “30 Rock” to be my favorite TV show, but when was the last time I actually watched it? To be honest, I can’t really remember. Now would be the perfect time to re-watch some old episodes and remind myself why I loved the show so much. (It’s obviously because of this.) “Gilmore Girls,” another longtime favorite, is returning sometime this year with new episodes, the first in nearly 10 years. Re-watching the final episodes would be a great memory jog before the new ones begin to air. (Although you could just listen to the “Gilmore Guys” podcast instead. They’re re-watching it so you don’t have to!)

 

Another way to make it through a pop culture lull is to dive deep into your Netflix queue for some things you may have missed along the way. For me, that means finally getting around to shows like “Documentary Now!“, “Jane the Virgin” and “Breaking Bad” (I know.) and movies like “Nightcrawler,” “Welcome to Me” and “Best in Show.” Stuff I always said I’d watch but never actually got around to because other things caught my attention first. Now that nothing else is catching my attention, I can finally dedicate some time to cutting down my Netflix queue and hopefully find some new favorites in the process.

 

At the end of the day, a pop culture lull is simply that; a lull. It isn’t permanent. It’s only a matter of time before the “UnREALs” and “Mr. Robots” of the world return, the “Popstar: Never Stop Never Stoppings” come out and the Tony Award winners are announced. But in the meantime, there is a prime opportunity to reinvigorate an old pop culture love or discover a new one that you overlooked in the past. Lulls don’t have to be so boring. They can actually be fun.

 

What do you do in a pop culture lull? Have any great TV series or movies that you never got around to watching in their time? Wanna berate me for not having watched “Breaking Bad” yet? You wouldn’t be the first person. And I will watch it! Eventually… But, until I do…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

