Screen shot 2016-06-27 at 12.53.47 PM
Screenshot by Jenn Murphy

Yesterday it was announced that “Oh, Hello“, the off-Broadway hit show of last year starring Gil Faizon (Nick Kroll) and George St. Geegland (John Mulaney) will be making its way to Broadway this fall. If my headline for this post wasn’t clear enough, this is the best news. Like, the best news since “Hamilton.” Seriously.

 

For those of you who might not be familiar with Gil and George (and if that’s true, you have been severely missing out), they’re two 70-something New Yorkers with a lot of strong opinions and entirely too much tuna. They were created by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney (aka two of the best comedians in the game, if you ask me) nearly a decade ago and have since then made their way from the alternative comedy stages of NYC to television screens on Kroll’s brilliant Comedy Central series “Kroll Show,” which sadly ended in 2015. Last fall, as I mentioned earlier, they had a critically adored run of “Oh, Hello” off-Broadway at the Cherry Lane Theatre and then took the show on the road, touring through several major American cities.

 

I’ve been a huge fan of both Kroll and Mulaney ever since seeing them on “Best Week Ever,” basically on of my favorite shows when I was in middle school. I even had the mildly embarrassing experience of fan-girling hard when spotting Mulaney in the flesh while on the NBC studio tour. (He was a writer at “SNL” at the time, creating the character of Stefon with Bill Hader. No biggie.) I sadly didn’t get a chance to see the “Oh, Hello” show in its first run off-Broadway or on tour, so you better trust and believe that I am going to do whatever it takes to get tickets for this Broadway production. It’s a combination of two of my favorite things (weird comedy and Broadway) and I couldn’t possibly be more excited.

 

Previews for “Oh, Hello on Broadway” begin at the Lyceum Theater on Friday, Sept. 23; the show opens on Monday, Oct. 10 and will run through Sunday, Jan. 8. Get your tickets now, but please save some for me. Thank you very cool.

 

Excited for “Oh, Hello on Broadway”? Have a favorite Gil and George moment? Think that there’s no such thing as “entirely too much tuna”? Write a sh’t story in the comments. And, before you go back to whatever you were doing before reading this, remember…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

