Screen shot 2016-08-29 at 3.53.14 PM
Screenshot by Jenn Murphy

There are plenty of things I could say about last night’s MTV Video Music Awards. I could talk about how Rihanna performed not once, not twice, not even thrice, but FOUR times as part of her acceptance of the Video Vanguard Award. I could talk about how Kanye West’s new music video (that he debuted in last night’s show) is a real masterclass in burying the lead. (Barely 10 seconds of cat face and sheep and then you cut to black? Come on dude.) I could bring up how MTV kindly provided a real-life visual to my dream of running a diner with Nick Jonas. (Although in my dream, The Fat Jew was nowhere to be found. Joanne the Scammer was definitely there though.) I could even discuss how there was one whole performance where I had no clue who any of the people performing were, which made me feel very uncool and out of touch. But all I really want to talk about is Beyonce’s nearly 16-minute performance of a medley of songs from “Lemonade,” her latest iconic visual album. And yet, I feel like I can’t.

 

How can one accurately describe what Beyonce did on that stage? It seems almost inappropriate to try and put into words what she consistently does so incredibly with visuals. I mean, come on. The way that she (and her equally brilliant creative team) put together something that feels more like an experience than a performance. The effortless inclusion of the most memorable and talked-about elements of “Lemonade,” (which earned Beyonce a total of 8 wins last night, helping her to beat the record for all-time VMA wins) from the smashing of the camera with “Hot Sauce,” her beloved baseball bat, to the ring of fire that felt even more epic live and onstage. The fact that, like I mentioned earlier, the performance was almost 16 minutes long and featured five of the songs from her 12-track album. For most of the performance I was convinced she was just going to run through the whole album and I’m sure I’m not the only one who would have been 100 percent okay with that. Of course, this was all after she arrived on the red carpet with the mothers of four black men who have lost their lives in racially-charged situations, the only really thoughtful political statement of the night. Seriously. How can a simple blogger such as myself take all of that and put it into something that does Beyonce’s ultimate takeover of the night justice?

 

The answer is, I can’t, and so I won’t. You’ll simply have to watch the whole thing for yourself. If you’ve already watched it, watch it again. What else are you doing? Being a productive human being? Whatever.

 

Did you watch the VMAs last night? Have your own thoughts on Beyonce’s show-stealing performance? Think I’m being a little too dramatic about the whole thing? Probably. But hey, what’s life without some drama? You can ruminate on that this week. And, as always…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

