Christmas may have been yesterday, but that doesn’t mean that it’s time to stop celebrating. Sure, the “normal” person would begin to pack up their decor and prepare for the next big holiday (New Years? Valentine’s Day? Ugh.) but the fun person keeps the Christmas cheer going all the way to next Christmas. And I don’t know about you, but I’m very fun.

 

Christmas is my favorite holiday of the year, largely because it’s so all-encompassing. Christmas decorations go up just about everywhere, radio stations start playing 24/7 Christmas music (the best kind of music, if you ask me) and you can’t go five channels on TV without hitting a classic Christmas movie (or a Hallmark Christmas movie, which are even better despite being very bad). I love all of it, so the day after Christmas is always kind of a downer for me. I have to wait, what, 364 more days to celebrate Christmas again? Not cool.

 

And so I don’t wait. I’m one of those people who will occasionally jam out to a Christmas song in non-Christmastime (especially if that song is “The Mistletoe Jam“) and I’ll make a somewhat conscious effort to watch TV reruns that are Christmas themed. People judge me, say it’s “way to soon,” but I say it’s never to soon to take in some Christmas cheer. I don’t know about you, but given recent events we should hold on to Christmas cheer as much as we can.

 

So here’s a little cheer for you. If I haven’t made it explicitly clear already, I love (or, I guess, loved) “American Idol.” Now that it’s over (at least, until they come up with a not nearly as good reboot) I always get excited when someone from “Idol’s” heyday comes out of the woodwork. This time, it’s the final two of season two, Ruben Studdard and Clay Aiken. Not only are they reuniting 13 years after their time on “Idol,” they’re singing a Christmas song! In matching red sweaters! On a “The View” set covered in Christmas trees and lights! It’s glorious and I knew it had to be shared. You’re welcome.

 

Do you enjoy Christmas related things when it’s not Christmastime? Do you not even celebrate Christmas? If so, what kind of pop culture-y stuff goes along with your chosen holiday? Sing a carol in the comments. And, before you go back to enjoying the excellent video above, let me just say…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

