Screen shot 2017-07-24 at 11.53.04 AM.png
Screenshot by Jenn Murphy

Amidst all of last week’s big San Diego Comic-Con news, another bit of information came out that has the potential to be pretty exciting. Amazon announced that it has ordered two seasons of “Homecoming,” a scripted series adapted from the scripted podcast of the same name. If you’re not familiar with the podcast, and there’s a pretty good chance you aren’t, then get to listening. You will not be disappointed.

 

“Homecoming,” the podcast (and presumably the TV series), tells the fictional story of a woman working with returning soldiers at a secret government facility…and that’s about all I can say about the plot. To give anything else away would be to deprive you of the satisfying way that podcast creators Eli Horowitz and Micah Bloomberg reveal more and more details and insight with each new episode. The story reveals itself through phone calls and recorded conversations and feels like a classic radio play of yesteryear.

 

The voice cast for the podcast is a who’s who of talents, including Catherine Keener, Oscar Isaac, David Schwimmer and Amy Sedaris. It seems somewhat unlikely that any of them will join the Amazon series’ cast (Julia Roberts has already signed on the play Keener’s role), which is a shame, but it also means that you’ll get to see (or, at least, hear) different people taking on the same role, a rarity outside of the superhero genre.

 

The Amazon series will also be helmed by Sam Esmail, the brilliant mind behind “Mr. Robot.” Hopefully that means that the “Homecoming” series will be infused with the same mystery and ambiance (but maybe a liiiittle more clarity) as Esmail’s other works. I certainly have high hopes. Now all I need is an Amazon Prime account.

 

There’s not a set premiere date for the Amazon series, so for now dig into the podcast. It just started its second season this past Wednesday and now has a companion novel with even more detail available on iBooks. That might make it sound like I’m on the “Homecoming” payroll, but I swear I’m not. (I wish I was though. Call me, guys!) I’m just a big fan from the beginning who’s excited to see this story grow. Do I wish it was growing on Netflix, where I already have an account? Of course I do. But in this new world of a seemingly endless variety of different streaming services, I guess I have to get used to it. We all do.

 

What do you think? Have any other lesser-known podcasts you love? Did you also binge-watch the entire first season of “Insecure” yesterday thanks to HBO putting it all on YouTube? Share in the comments. And of course…

 

Stay classy.

Jenn

